Extract from the 28th of August 1998 Law regarding hospitals

Art. 36.

« Patients have a right to access their individual file in person or through a medical practitioner designated by the patient, whether the practitioner is appointed to the establishment or not. The hospital has to provide the patient or the medical practitioner with copies of the elements from the file. They can also access the file on site.»

Art. 37.

Every patient has access to preventive, curative or palliative care required by the patient's health in accordance with data acquired through scientific procedures and with deontology

Treatments have to be organized as to guarantee their continuity in all circumstances.

Art. 38.

Every patient's private life must be protected: confidentiality, dignity and respect of religious and philosophic beliefs.

Art. 39.

Except in case of an emergency, the patient has a right to chose the hospital and the medical staff among those in practice in the chosen establishment.

Art. 40.

During the admission at the hospital or at the specialized medical center and during the stay, patients have a right to be fully informed of their health condition as well as the available. It is the medical staff duty to inform the patients of their condition. These information can be completed by the other members of the medical care staff in respect of the applicable rules of deontology.

Patients have a right to refuse any diagnosis or therapeutic intervention without prejudicing dispositions of article 7, paragraphs 2 and 3, of the 10th of August 1992 Law regarding youth protection. All considered, patients have a right to a treatment designed to reduce their pain and suffering.

Art. 41.

All patients of the same hospital or specialized medical center have a right to care of equal quality. They have, as long as their health condition requires it, an equal right to access all therapeutic or diagnosis means and equipments the hospital or specialized medical center may have at its disposal, without prejudice of priority or level of urgency of the care.

Art. 42.

Each hospital or specialized medical center has internal rules stating measures to guarantee the safety of patients and visitors. These rules also specify the hours and conditions to visit patients.

Art. 43.

In case of an incurable affection in terminal phase, doctors must do whatever they can to ease the patient's physical or moral suffering by providing appropriate treatment, avoiding hopeless overuse of intensive medication and keeping the patient's survival as easy as possible. Doctors must see to the dying patient to the end and allow the patient to keep his dignity. Doctors will as well provide the patient's relatives with the appropriate assistance to ease their pain in these difficult moments. During the last moments, patients have the right to have the person of their choice at their side under conditions respecting their dignity.

Art. 44.

The hospital or the specialized medical center adequately informs patients of the dispositions of the current article, of the financial modalities of their stay including the fees to be paid by the patient.

Art. 45.

The identity of care and service providers must be easily accessible at every moment by patients with whom they will have contact.

Art. 46.

In each hospital the director sets up a system of processing and breaking down suggestions, grievances and complaints addressed to the direction. Without prejudice to the previous disposition the Health Director investigates any complaint from a patient regarding a disrespect for the present law or, more generally, regarding malfunctioning of any hospital.

During the investigation duty the Health Director or his regional delegate public servant has access to the plaintiff's file defined in article 36 of the present law.

The Health Director informs the plaintiff and the hospital director of the results of the investigation. In case of the patient being minor, legally or mentally incapacitated or deceased, the complaint can be issued by the legal guardian or by a relative of the patient giving proof of a moral or material interest.

By this document we inform you that some of your personal data are processed by computer. The Rehazenter is responsible for this data processing. You have a right to access your personal data and to have them modified if necessary. The Rehazenter has done everything to ensure the protection of your personal data against accidental or illegal destruction as well as to protect them from unauthorized access in respect of the medical and professional secrecy.

Smoking Ban

We must inform you that according to the 11th of August 2006 Law concerning anti-smoking, it is, as stated in article 6.1 of the latter law, forbidden to smoke inside the entire hospital. One smoking area is available to stationary patients on floor N+1 at the end of the hall.

Cell phones prohibited

For obvious safety reasons, it is forbidden to use a cell phone (GSM) inside the Rehazenter. We ask our patients and their visitors to resepect that rule to prevent any perturbation on medical devices.

(Extrait de la loi du 28 août 1998 sur les établissements hospitaliers)

Art. 36.
« Le patient a un droit d’accès à son dossier individuel qu’il exerce en personne ou par l’intermédiaire d’un médecin qu’il désigne, attaché ou non audit établissement hospitalier. L’hôpital est tenu de remettre au patient ou à ce médecin sous forme de copies les pièces figurant obligatoirement au dossier. Ceux-ci peuvent de même consulter le dossier sur place.»

Art. 37.
Tout patient a accès aux soins préventifs, curatifs ou palliatifs que requiert son état de santé, conformes aux données acquises par la science et à la déontologie.

Les soins doivent être organisés de façon à garantir leur continuité en toutes circonstances.

Art. 38.
Tout patient a droit à la protection de sa vie privée : à la confidentialité, à la dignité et au respect de ses convictions religieuses et philosophiques.

Art. 39.
Sauf le cas d’urgence, le patient a le libre choix de l’hôpital ainsi que du médecin parmi ceux admis à exercer à l’hôpital.

Art. 40.
Lors de son admission à l’hôpital ou à l’établissement hospitalier spécialisé, ainsi que pendant son séjour hospitalier le patient a, en vue de son consentement éclairé, droit à une information adéquate sur son état de santé ainsi que sur les traitements proposés.
Il incombe au médecin traitant d’en informer le patient. Ces informations peuvent être complétées par les autres prestataires de soins dans le respect des règles déontologiques applicables.

Le patient a le droit de refuser ou d’accepter toute intervention diagnostique ou thérapeutique, sans préjudice des dispositions de l’article 7, alinéas 2 et 3, de la loi du 10 août 1992 relatif à la protection de la jeunesse. En toute état de cause il a droit à une prise en charge visant à soulager sa douleur et sa souffrance.

Art. 41.
Tous les patients d’un même hôpital ou établissement hospitalier spécialisé ont droit à la même qualité de soins. Ils ont, pour autant que leur étal de santé le requiert, un droit égal d’accès à tous les moyens et équipements thérapeutiques ou de diagnostic dont dispose l’hôpital ou l’établissement spécialisé, sans préjudice des priorités dues au dégrée d’urgence de la prestation.

Art. 42.
Dans chaque hôpital ou établissement hospitalier spécialisé le règlement d’ordre intérieur contient les dispositions nécessaires pour garantir la sécurité des patients et des visiteurs. Il précise notamment les heures et modalités de visite auprès des patients.

Art. 43.
En cas d’affectation incurable et terminale, le médecin traitant hospitalier doit apaiser les souffrances physiques et morales du patient en lui donnant les traitements appropriés, en évitant tout acharnement thérapeutique sans espoir et en maintenant pour autant que possible la qualité de la survie. Le médecin doit assister le mourant jusqu’à la fin et agir de façon à permettre au patient de garder sa dignité. De même il offrira aux proches du patient l’assistance adéquate pour soulager leurs souffrances en rapport avec cette situation. A l’approche de la mort, le patient a le droit d’être accompagné en permanence par au moins une personne de son choix dans des conditions respectant sa dignité.

Art. 44.
L’hôpital ou l’établissement hospitalier spécialisé informe de manière adéquate le patient des dispositions du présent chapitre, des modalités pratiques et des conditions financières de son séjour, y compris les montants à charge du patient.

Art. 45.
L’identité et la qualification des prestataires de soins et de services hospitaliers, doivent être facilement connaissables à tout moment par les patients avec lesquels ceux-ci sont en contact.

Art. 46.
Dans chaque établissement hospitalier le directeur met en place un mécanisme de traitement et de ventilation des suggestions, doléances et plaintes lui adressées.
Sans préjudice de la disposition qui précède le directeur de la Santé instruit toute plainte émanant d’un patient faisant état d’un manquement à la présente loi ou, plus généralement, du fonctionnement défectueux d’un service hospitalier.

Dans l’exercice de sa mission d’instruction le directeur de la Santé ou le fonctionnaire de sa direction délégué par lui à cet effet a notamment accès au dossier du plaignant dont question à l’article 36 de la présente loi.

Le directeur de la Santé informe le plaignant et de directeur de l’établissement du résultat de son instruction. En cas de minorité, d’incapacité juridique ou mentale ou de décès du patient, la plainte dont question peut émaner respectivement du représentant légal du patient ou d’un proche, documentant un intérêt moral ou matériel.

Par la présente nous vous informons que certaines de vos données personnelles sont traitées par voie informatique. Le responsable du traitement est le Rehazenter. Vous avez le droit de consulter vos données et y faire apporter les modifications qui s’imposent. Le Rehazenter a mis en œuvre tous les moyens à sa disposition pour assurer la protection des données contre toute destruction accidentelle ou illicite ainsi qu’une protection contre les accès non autorisés dans le respect du secret médical et professionnel.

Interdiction de fumer
Nous tenons à vous informer que conformément à la nouvelle loi du 11 août 2006 relative à la lutte antitabac, il est selon l’article 6.1 de ladite loi interdit de fumer à l’intérieur et dans toute l’enceinte de l’hôpital.

Un fumoir unique est néanmoins disponible pour les patients stationnaires à l’étage N+1 au fond du couloir.

Interdiction d’utiliser un GSM
Pour des raisons de sécurité, il est interdit d’utiliser un téléphone portable (GSM) dans l’enceinte du Rehazenter. Nous prions les patients et leurs visiteurs de respecter cette interdiction afin d’éviter d’éventuelles perturbations d’appareils médicaux.