"Medical rehabilitation is defined as the integrated and combined application of medical, social, psychic, technical and pedagogic measures to help a patient in finding the best fitted place in the society and/or keeping this place."
(World Health Organization)

"Re-education and rehabilitation medicine is a specialty meant to coordinate and implement measures designed to prevent or reduce to the inevitable minimum the functional, physical, psychological, social and economic consequences of deficiencies and disabilities. It implies a methodic implementation of actions required to achieve these objectives from the first day of the injury to the day the patient is reintegrated into his environment and into society."
(European Federation of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine)

Today, the importance of re-education and rehabilitation medicine cannot be denied as well as its complementarity with regular medicine following illness or accident. The involvement of political, medical and community actors led to the opening of the brand new National Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation in February 2007 on the Kirchberg plateau with the ambition to become a Center of Excellence in the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg and within the Grand Region.

This Center is meant to assist all patients and their families and its missions are :

  • the management of a specialized medical establishment in charge of delivering stationary and ambulatory care as well as functional re-education
  • and the rehabilitation of disabled people,
  • to initiate and carry on specific clinical research programs in the physical re-education and rehabilitation domains,
  • to be a teaching place for re-education.

The management team

« La réadaptation médicale est définie comme l’application coordonnée et combinée de mesures dans les domaines médical, social, psychique, technique et pédagogique, qui peuvent aider à remettre le patient à la place qui lui convient le mieux dans la société ou/et à lui conserver cette place. »
(Organisation mondiale de la santé)

« La médecine de rééducation et de réadaptation est une spécialité qui a pour rôle de coordonner et d’assurer la mise en application de toutes les mesures visant à prévenir ou à réduire au minimum inévitable les conséquences fonctionnelles, physiques, psychiques, sociales et économiques des déficiences ou des incapacités. Elle comporte la mise en oeuvre méthodique des actions nécessaires à la réalisation de ces objectifs, depuis le début de l’affection, jusqu’à la réinsertion du patient dans son milieu ambiant et dans la société. »
(Fédération européenne de médecine physique et de réadaptation)

Nul ne peut nier aujourd’hui l’importance de la médecine de rééducation et de réadaptation, sa complémentarité à la médecine curative dans les suites d’une maladie ou d’un accident. La conviction et la ténacité de tout un chacun du monde politique, du monde médical et associatif, ont permis l’ouverture du nouveau Centre National de Rééducation Fonctionnelle et de Réadaptation en février 2007 sur le plateau du Kirchberg qui se veut un Centre d’Excellence au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et au sein de la Grande Région.

Ce Centre est au service de tous les patients et de leurs familles avec pour missions :

  • la gestion d’un établissement hospitalier spécialisé chargé de prester des soins stationnaires et ambulatoires dans le traitement, la rééducation fonctionnelle
  • et la réadaptation des personnes accidentées de la vie,
  • d’initier et de poursuivre des programmes scientifiques de recherche clinique en matière de rééducation fonctionnelle et de réadaptation,
  • d’être un lieu d’enseignement en matière de rééducation.

La Direction