The " National Center for Re-education and Rehabilitation" (NCFRR) is located in the "Grünewald area" at the far east of the Kirchberg area.
Connexion to the local infrastructures being located on the Northern part of the complex, therapy rooms and hospitalization units are oriented towards the quietness of the valley.

The fact that the Center is also providing services and serving as a sports facility helps the patients to fit back in the society and everyday's life.

The developed green zone including a public space, parking lots and pedestrian roads and located between the public highway and the building, serves as a buffer between accommodations and traffic.

The different functions of the building are spread through four levels that are integrated into the place's topography, taking into account the constraints of accessibility, lighting and communication with the outside. From a functional point of view, traffic, hospitalization units and therapeutic apartments, administration and medico-technical units, therapy rooms, gymnasium, hydra/spa bath therapy and pools, technical rooms and archives as well as the two-floor parking facility can be distinguished.

Lighting and natural ventilation of therapeutic zones are provided by the disposition of patios.

The vertical communication between the different levels is mainly obtained through the glass hall, being the spine of the building.

Hospitalization units are designed like three boxes laid on level 1 above the therapeutic and medico-technical levels. These volumes go through the main glass hall.

Level 0 is accessible through the main entrance located at street level. The disposition of public spaces is organized around the main hall; these spaces are the restaurant and the kitchen, newsstand and conference rooms.

These spaces have open view on the gymnasium and the pool and allow an easy communication between non-disabled people and patients. Direction's office, administration, medico-technical units (diagnosis and examination rooms), social service as well as the cognitive neuro-rehabilitation / psychology unit can also be found on level 0.

Sub-level 1, the therapeutic level, is directly connected to the underground parking lot and outdoors therapies. The adapted gymnastic therapy and physiotherapy unit is composed of, among other things, a triple gymnasium with muscle-building and cardio training devices.

Hydrotherapy and its various baths is centered around the pool with one therapeutic pool and one sport pool.

Physiotherapy and occupational therapy are strongly interconnected through their medical and therapeutic similarities.

The concrete cantilevers to be seen on level 0 and sub-level 1 emphasize the therapeutic levels and medico-technical units. The neutral, transparent band-like front between the different horizontal layers is made of glass and aluminum railings. Behind the front are scattered the different utility rooms.

The finishing works on the walls, ceilings and floors is linked to the general structure of the building and takes into account the different requirements of each functional unit to facilitate people's orientation within the building.

Le « Centre National de Rééducation Fonctionnelle et de Réadaptation (CNRFR) » est situé dans le « Quartier Grünewald » à l’extrémité Est du quartier du Kirchberg.
Le raccordement aux infrastructures étant situé au Nord, les salles de thérapies et les unités d’hospitalisation peuvent être orientées du côté vallée plus tranquille.

L’ouverture du Centre en tant que lieu de prestation de services et centre sportif facilite l’intégration des patients dans la vie quotidienne de la société.

La zone verte aménagée, comprenant place publique, places de stationnement et chemins piétons, située entre la voie publique et le bâtiment, sert de tampon vers l’habitat et le raccordement à la circulation.

Les différentes fonctions du bâtiment se répartissent sur quatre niveaux qui s’intègrent à la topographie en tenant compte des contraintes d’accessibilité, d’éclairage et de communication avec l’extérieur. Du point de vue fonctionnel, on distingue la circulation, les unités d’hospitalisation et les appartements thérapeutiques, l’administration et les unités médico-techniques, les salles de thérapies, le gymnase, l’hydro-balnéothérapie avec les piscines, les locaux techniques et les archives, ainsi que les deux niveaux de parking souterrain.

L’éclairage et la ventilation naturelle des zones thérapeutiques sont assurés par l’organisation de cours intérieures.

La communication verticale entre les différents niveaux est assurée principalement par le couloir vitré qui forme la colonne dorsale du bâtiment.

Les unités d’hospitalisation sont conçues comme trois boîtes posées au niveau +1 au-dessus des plateaux thérapeutiques et médico-techniques. Ces volumes transpercent le couloir vitré principal.

Le niveau 0 est accessible depuis l’entrée principale située au niveau de la voie publique. La distribution des espaces publiques se fait par le hall ; il s’agit en l’occurrence du restaurant avec la cuisine, du kiosque et des salles de conférence.

Ces espaces ouvrent des vues sur le gymnase et la piscine et favorisent la communication entre les personnes valides et les patients. Le niveau 0 accueille par ailleurs la direction, l’administration, les unités médico-techniques (diagnostic et cabinets de consultation), le service social ainsi que l’unité de neuroréhabilitation cognitive/psychologie.

Le niveau -1 qui est le plateau thérapeutique proprement dit, est en communication directe avec le parking souterrain et les thérapies extérieures. L’unité de thérapie gymnique adaptée et physiothérapie comprend entre autre un gymnase triple avec espaces musculation et réentraînement cardiovasculaire.

L’hydrothérapie avec les différents bains et espaces de traitements s’oriente autour du volume de la piscine avec un bassin thérapeutique et un bassin sportif.

Les services de kinésithérapie et d’ergothérapie sont fortement interconnectés de part leurs relations médicales et thérapeutiques.

Les porte-à-faux en béton vu aux niveaux 0 et -1 mettent en valeur les plateaux thérapeutiques et les unités médico-techniques. Entre les différentes strates horizontales est disposée la façade, tel un bandeau vitré, neutre, transparent, constitué de profilés en aluminium. Derrière la façade sont disposés librement les divers locaux fonctionnels.

La finition des murs, plafonds et sols résulte de la structure générale du bâtiment et tient compte des demandes individuelles des différentes unités fonctionnelles pour faciliter l’orientation dans le bâtiment.